Buy Album


Jazz & Blues Revue

This album started as a thought:

It would be great entertainment to have a jazz band fronted by three singers who could do Andrew Sisters-style 3 part harmony AND also sing in various solo styles.  The show would consist of an evening of jazz and blues, covering the history of vocal jazz styles from the '40s forward.

So the Jazz & Blues Revue was born, initially as a once-a-year special event.

Then after 4+ years of performing clubs and concert halls there was another thought: Why not make an album of this material that really captures the talents of this group?


This is not so easy.  A first-class recording of 13 songs with a 9-piece group including 3 singers would definitely cost time and money to produce and release.

In January 2014 George Kahn started researching the possibility of using crowd-funding to make this dream happen.

On June 1st we launched our Kickstarter campaign to raise $18,000 to make the recording.

On July 10 the campaign ended, and over 250 fans had pledged over $20,000.

Two weeks later, with recording budget in the bank, the band went into the studio and started recording.

Even after dealing with everyone's summer vacation schedules the tracks were all "in the can" by Labor Day.

On September 6 the mixing and mastering process began, along with designing the CD package.

On October 1 the final master, plus all the album artwork went off to DiscMakers, to press the album.

Jazz & Blues Revue Outer And now this dream is a reality:

Downloads of the first single, "God Bless The Child" (featuring Gina Saputo on lead vocal) began on October 22.

The complete album will be available for purchase from CD Baby, iTunes and various other music retailers on November 18.

The album has 13 new, creative arrangements of jazz and blues standards like Cantaloupe Island, Rock Me Baby, Beat Me Daddy Eight To The Bar, God Bless The Child, Summertime and Afro Blue. George Kahn (piano, musical director) is joined by three amazing singers: Courtney Lemmon, Gina Saputo and Crystal Starr, plus an al-star band.

Singer Courtney Lemmon has appeared on several of George’s albums and most recently released her debut CD "STAY WITH ME", teaming her with Grammy Award winning Producer Michael Acosta. Gina Saputo was among seven musicians chosen by Herbie Hancock, Terence Blanchard, and Wayne Shorter to study at the Thelonius Monk Institute. She performs regularly and also teaches singing at the Musicians Institute. Crystal Starr has performed as a backup singer for Ariana Grande, as well as legendary greats Smokey Robinson, John Legend and Joss Stone. She recently performed on Broadway in "Baby It’s You!".

Jazz & Blues Revue InnerRenowned musicians Eric Marienthal (Sax), Dr. Bobby Rodriguez (trumpet), Lyman Medeiros (Bass) and M. B. Gordy (Drums/Percussion) are featured on the new album, along with Special Guests, Pat Kelley on Guitar and Chuck Manning on Sax.

Song List

  1. Cantaloupe Island (featuring Gina Saputo)
  2. Yes We Can Can (featuring Courtney Lemmon)
  3. Summertime (featuring Crystal Starr)
  4. Beat Me Daddy Eight To The Bar
  5. Shoo Shoo Baby (featuring Gina Saputo)
  6. Use Me
  7. The Boy From New York City/The Way You Make Me Feel (featuring Crystal Starr)
  8. God Bless The Child (featuring Gina Saputo)
  9. I'd Rather Go Blind (featuring Courtney Lemmon)
  10. Something's Got A Hold On Me (featuring Crystal Starr)
  11. Rock Me Baby
  12. Feeling Good (featuring Courtney Lemmon)
  13. Afro Blue